Skip to content

A 55er

May 6, 2009

I see 55ers all around the blogosphere so before someone tags me with that I put in my own attempt.

Growth

She looked across the table at him, completely engrossed in his Blackberry.

Her thoughts went back to the time when she couldn’t stop him from fondling her legs from under the table.

‘Teenage’ she sighed.

We grow up and rich and apart.

Happy Anniversary dear’ read the cake. That was the only thing common now.

 

Duties

In the middle of the night he woke up, looked at the girl sleeping next to him and silently left for the other room with his mobile in hand.

‘Hi darling, why you didn’t call earlier?’ said the other woman’s voice.

‘It took me 3 hours to get our daughter to sleep.’ That’s why.

 

Love

His mother caught him by his ear puling hard on seeing the mess in the hall. Paint all over the cushions.

“Why did you do it, it is so expensive” she scolded

“But Mumma my teacher asked us to make Mother’s Day presents, and we learned finger painting today”. Came the 4year old’s innocent reply.

30 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2009 11:36 am

    Oorja – All your 55ers are great!!! I esp loved the last 2 🙂 Very very sweet!

    thanks you… 😀

  2. Pal permalink
    May 6, 2009 11:53 am

    Oh I loved the first one. Typical of a married couple. I wonder why romance is a ‘memorable’ quality in married men!!

    The third one was also extremely touching. Kids can do the darnest things and still get away with it 🙂

    Keep writing!!

    ‘memorable’ really..!

    so.. not bad for not-a-mom-yet..!

  3. May 6, 2009 12:09 pm

    Hey all were awesome read…this shows you are quite emotional person…

    luvd the last one a lot.. 😆 kids are alwaya adorable..

    i am an emotional person but generally not very expressive. 🙂

  4. May 6, 2009 1:47 pm

    Loved the 1st the most 🙂 it is soo soo true na!!!

    We grow up and grow apart…

    Nice ones 🙂

    true. that happens not and just couples but all relationships.. 🙂

  5. May 6, 2009 2:44 pm

    The first ones my favourite. Such distance happens in all the relationship, na?

    The third one is like a Sooraj Bharjatiyas movie – saccharine sweety while the second one is like an Abbas Mustan movie- a sudden twist ! 😀

    This 55 -er is addictive ! I did another one a few days back !

    experienced.. huh.. 😉
    yes that happens all the time, if not to this extent.

    yes its really very addictive. when i started i didn’t think i would be able to write even one.

  6. May 6, 2009 3:12 pm

    Hi!

    I came to know the concept of 55er just yesterday.

    The first one was just amazing. It was complete. Don’t know if I can write such piece.

    Congratulations!

    thanks… welcome here.. 🙂

    i came to know a few days ago and saw so many in a short span of time, intriguing me to write one too.

  7. May 6, 2009 4:34 pm

    Oorja, I LOVED all three and it touched a chord.

    Growth is a reality of many marriages.

    Duties are rare these days.

    Love is a reality in my house. It happened with Peanut and me. Not with paint but with papers.

    BTW I love this theme the best one of all you had.

    🙂 thanks..

    @love- really it happened..? how sweet , hope she didn’t get spancked.. 😀

    @growth-if not the blackberry there is always a book, newspaper, t.v, videogame, internet, his friends and so on…… but don’t the women do the same with the t.v serials, and school home work, neighbours, shopping and so on….

    @duties-i feel duties are starting now… as now men have no choice but to help.

  8. May 6, 2009 5:24 pm

    Three 55ers covering three different facets of life. Enjoyed reading them. Loved the last, second and first in that order. You captured the essence in 55 words..Congratulations.

    thanks a lot.. glad you enjoyed them..

    Welcome here.. 🙂

  9. May 6, 2009 6:14 pm

    Duties is my favorite 🙂 Loved it!! Growth I guess (and hope) is just a passing phase… and Love can makes Growth become loving again 🙂 … changing the writing on the cake from whatever to “Happy Father’s Day” .. by the baby who took three hours to sleep 🙂
    Loved your 55ers 🙂

    i liked duties the most too.. maybe it is a bit more rare than the rest of them.

    i hope your hope turns true. 🙂

  10. May 6, 2009 6:49 pm

    loved all of them… nice post! 🙂

    thanks.. welcome here… 🙂

  11. May 6, 2009 8:49 pm

    loved them all:) I am in awe of anyone who can write a 55er 😀 and three?at one go?by joe you are right up there in my pantheon of 55er goddesses 😀

    loved the last one the most 🙂

    😀 thanks but it is not as easy as it looks after being posted. 🙂

  12. May 6, 2009 9:23 pm

    My favorite would be Duties. 🙂

    it is special to me too..

  13. May 7, 2009 3:42 am

    loved d last one….:):)

    aren’t kids cute.. 🙂

  14. May 7, 2009 4:23 am

    Very good…
    But what with all these 55ers!!!
    I shall rather write a post first and then count… say one of my posts was a 75er, the other 101er 😀

    that is the beauty of it….you have to sum up a situation in 55 words. it should be complete in itself.
    it needs some major mind boggling to write one as short as this, with solid content. its easier to write and then count but very difficult to write within restricted limits. think of it as a blogger’s test of writing.

  15. May 7, 2009 5:15 am

    so cutee.. loved the mothers day and other woman one !!! give us more !!!

    more.. OMG..! it is really difficult..

    but it is also very addictive so you never know.. 😉

  16. May 7, 2009 3:49 pm

    //We grow up and rich and apart//.

    That is so true!

    Destination Infinity

    hmm.. unfortunately it is true…

  17. May 7, 2009 9:06 pm

    I loved the first and second….. 🙂
    it really is hard to keep the romance in a marriage from fizzing out…..

    and the ending in the second one was unexpected!! classic!!!

    hard but not impossible if both actually try …. 🙂

    thanks.. 🙂

  18. May 8, 2009 3:08 am

    ah good one friend. I liked the first and the last one 🙂

    🙂

  19. May 8, 2009 5:15 am

    blogrolling ya btw 🙂

    thanks.. 🙂

  20. May 8, 2009 6:40 am

    whats a 55er? i have not come across this tag except on your blog …
    explain it to me now! now! AND NOW!
    then i will put in my comments 🙂

    Hmm… do you know what do to ‘ZIDDI’ people…!?!

    continue this and you’ll know.
    Buhahahahha

  21. May 8, 2009 7:48 am

    Arpit,

    See if this helps:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/55_Fiction

    TC.

    hey thanks for the link.. hope he got his answer.. 🙂

  22. May 8, 2009 3:40 pm

    Hey that’s quite an interesting tag! Summing up a situation in 55 words! Very beautifully done :). I might try to pick it up and see how I fare!

    ya it’s very interesting.. sure.. try your hands on it… 🙂

  23. May 9, 2009 6:28 am

    @ panchalkc : thanks for the link i got the answer 🙂

    @ oorja : hehe……..you are a devil 😛
    i liked the third one 😛
    i think i should also give it a try 🙂

    Hehe.. that i am… 🙂

  24. May 9, 2009 10:43 am

    Hi Oorja!

    So, finally I’ve written my own 55ers. Do check them out when you find time at my blogspot blog.

    TC.

    PS: I’d be doing a followup of my post on pride, arrogance, etc. tomorrow.

    Oh great.. i’ll be there..!

  25. May 10, 2009 5:01 pm

    nice ones especially the last one. I have tried to write but 55 words are too less for me 😀

    🙂 not just for u.. it is really tough… just 55 words.

  26. May 12, 2009 8:44 am

    A superb 55 er, esp the Duties one. Hmmm lot of changes here..for once I thought that I landed up in some one else’s blog.. But this template’s uber cool
    🙂 Lot to catch up in the prev post!

    🙂 i am still trying out new templates so u might find a new one next time.. 🙂

  27. May 12, 2009 12:28 pm

    These are fantastic, Oorja! The second one was my favourite. 🙂

    thanks.. 🙂

  28. May 12, 2009 6:15 pm

    cute 😉 loved the last one especially 😀

    🙂 😀

  29. May 20, 2009 3:14 pm

    Nice ones! Liked all three…all of them capture different phases in life so well!

    🙂 thank you..

  30. June 15, 2009 9:20 am

    Liked the “duties” one the best! 🙂

    🙂 me too..

Leave a comment