Skip to content

Live the “Quote”

October 4, 2009

I have this habit… don’t know if it is good or bad but I do have it…

I can’t Quote a ‘Quotes’ as a Quote..

Confused…? What I mean is, when I read any quote I just take in the gist and say it in my own words..

I like quotes a lot.. they are like small inspirational books in themselves.. leave a great impression on you in minimal number words.. which is a great quality in its own.. but my problem is I can’t remember those very less number of words as it is.. though I can write a whole page write up explaining it.

Somehow I just can’t remember the exact words of the ‘Other Person’. That used to cause me some troubles during school/college days when you have to remember the definitions given by famous people exactly in their words. But I always preferred not to do it.. all my class used to mug up the quotes and write them, but I was the only one in the class who rarely used this sign “______” to fill it with the real quote or definition. I just ditched the dangerous sign and wrote what the person meant in his/her quote.. and then used to continue with what I had to say.

How can I remember these quotes….? those are not my words and moreover that is not my idea.. no matter how much I like the quote and the lesson we get from it……. I can’t remember it…. how can I remember it exactly.. and why should I..? It is the inner meaning of it that is important not the exact words..

Once I read this in a book called The Prayer of a Frog

A philosopher who had only one pair of shoes asked the cobbler to repair them for him while he waited.

 “It’s closing time,” said the cobbler, “so it won’t be possible for me to repair them just now. Why don’t you come for them tomorrow?”

 “I have only one pair of shoes and it won’t be possible for me to walk without shoes.” “Very well. I shall lend you a used pair for the day.”

“What! Wear someone else’s shoes? What do you take me for?”

“Why should you object to having someone else’s shoes on your feet when you don’t mind carrying other people’s ideas in your head?”

And maybe after that I started feeling what I was doing was right.

Aren’t we supposed to live life like that too.. if we see other people’s lives and like what we see we can’t just copy paste them into our lives.. We must modify and moderate the morals of other’s lives to fit in ours.

Not everyone gets benefited by the same kind of advice. Every person is unique so every person must follow a tailor-made solution to suit their own situations. We can never generalize common problems too and give a common answer of ‘try it, it worked for me’.

If it worked for someone else doesn’t mean it will give you the same results.. If we want to follow these great ideas in our lives we must read them many a times and gradually get the juice of it.. then only we will really benefited from them.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2009 10:28 am

    FIRST!!!!! 😀

    Yay… !!!! 😀

  2. October 4, 2009 10:36 am

    true Oorja…

    it will be a grave mistake to copy anybody as they are… we have to modify it to our requirements and lifestyle…

    right.. it is good to use other’s ideas but to suit our requirements.. the story is very nice… 🙂 🙂

    i liked the story a lot.. read it sometime ago as i have the book.. but specially searched the net for it as i wanted it for this post.

  3. October 4, 2009 10:37 am

    ever heard the saying: “learn from the mistakes of others, we wont long enuff to commit them all ourselves” 🙂

    very right.. learn from others.. noONE can do it all… 😀

  4. October 4, 2009 3:39 pm


    but I was the only one in the class who rarely used this sign “______” to fill it with the real quote or definition. I just ditched the dangerous sign and wrote what the person meant in his/her quote.. and then used to continue with what I had to say

    hugs to u Oorja… i have no doubts that u are doing much better than the “mug-up” fellow students. with all due respect to al muging-up students (God knows that’s the only way crafty passed her social sciences and geograph 😛 ) when u take a gist of the matter and put it in ur own words, it is definitely much more retained in the mind, coz u have understood what it stood for or what it was connoting.

    {{{{{{{{{{Hugs}}}}}}}}}}}

    coming to quotes, yeah its tough to remember them verbatim. but there tend to be some quotes that I do remember verbatim… not by choice, just coz of the way they are crafted.

    Many a times they are in a decorative language.

    language is so powerful, sometimes a thought is crafted so well in few words, that that combination of words remain etched in the mind, just as they are, and u don’t wanna change it, coz its perfect. and u tend to remember it that way too… of course how u use it in life has to fit to what suits u… leme share two quotes that i have known verbatim ever since i read them, for the sheer magnitude of idea in them, said in simlicity –

    “If you want to tell people the truth, make them laugh – otherwise they will kill you.” – Oscar Wilde

    this is so true.. 🙂

    “I think we dream so that we don’t have to be apart so long. If we’re in each others dreams, we can play all night long” – Calvin & Hobbes

    and this is too cute.. 😀

    and oorja, ur post reminded me of another Quote by Oscar Wilde (how i love him), that says exactly what u do here!

    “Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone elses opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation”

    oh i haven’t heard this one ever.. thanks for sharing… and it seems just like what i said.. 🙂 and Oscar Wilde is brilliant…..

    hugsssss!!!! superb thought and very well expressed Oorja!

    ((((((((((HUGS))))))))) 🙂

  5. October 4, 2009 5:31 pm

    During my +1 and +2, I had selected Sanskrit as a second language (I should have really taken Tamil, but past is past) and in that subject, we could write in English by giving relevant quotations from the sanskrit book (Even if you write totally in English, you might get 70%!! What a way to learn a language!). I thought they would go from the basics of word formation, etc. To my shock everyone (me included) found ourselves mugging up a lot of Sanskrit quotes!! Imagine this : I actually memorized a whole Bhagavat Gita chapter!! So much for the education system and our ‘learnings’. But other students were so happy memorizing as it was a sure shot way of scoring more marks (rather than being tested for the language proficiency). I think people just get what they want!

    Destination Infinity

    Yes Sanskrit always is famous for that.. it is too scoring for those who have roting power. but when we studied sanskrit i managed to understand those words too.. they are quite similar to Tamil..so its easier for us. but yes the grammer.. you just have to mug up. 🙂

  6. October 4, 2009 5:35 pm

    I too love quotes and using them in my conversation but I never mugged up quotes. If any quote struck me as profound, it got memorised naturally.

    Quotes are a great medium to express even very big concepts in very few words. they (should) take time to sink in.. but stay.

  7. October 4, 2009 10:32 pm

    interesting 😛

    there is one quote which i try to follow all the time………… in tamil
    nallathe sai, nallathe nenai, nallathe nadakkum 😛

    enne nalla ennam… this everyone should memorise and follow.. 😀

  8. Rashmi permalink
    October 5, 2009 11:08 am

    My fav quote “Live and let live” ….I dont bother much abt others life and doesnt want anybody else to interfer in mine too…

    only if all lived by this quote.. 🙂

    Nice story oorja…Agreed to your thoughts…

    😀 🙂

  9. October 5, 2009 12:55 pm

    *Clap clap clap*
    Well said Oorja 🙂
    What suits one, need one suit other to the T. As long as you retain the crux, you may and shud adapt it to your situation.

    Thanks a lot.. 😀

    Welcome here.. 🙂

  10. October 5, 2009 4:53 pm

    I wasn’t good at learning and quoting … though bits and pieces of lines and thoughts remained in mind – the ones one liked remain in the mind a little longer…

    good ones leave a mark.. i feel in trying to learn the words the meaning is lost sometines..

  11. October 5, 2009 5:49 pm

    I just love quotes, but never use them while conversing. A peep into my orkut album will let you know how obsessed I am with quotes 😀 😀 😀

    me too…
    i would love to peek in but Oorja doesn’t have a orkut account.. 🙂

  12. October 5, 2009 6:09 pm

    Every word I uttery please to note… is a quote… !!!!

    people wont value today… but it will be a saga some day… !! 😛

    Oho.. that is why you blog.. and we read to get all your gyan… 😉 lol… 😀

    • Rashmi permalink
      October 6, 2009 5:50 am

      😆 …apne muh miya mithu 🙂 {Self praise]

  13. October 6, 2009 3:06 pm

    Me & quotes never see eye to eye!!! Somehow have now patience in reading them!!!

    hehe.. 🙂
    i love to read them… the trouble starts only when i have to remember them… 😉

  14. October 7, 2009 6:47 pm

    Such great thinking! Very profound!!

    atlast A ‘Virtue’ after all the Vices(addictions) i have written about…. 😉

  15. October 9, 2009 10:31 pm

    Oorja, I continue to be impressed with your wit and wisdom. I love quotes, too, and I’m working on a page of them for my blog. However inspiring they may sound, they are useless if one doesn’t integrate them into ones life. You do that by making them your own. I did like your story about the Cobbler. It reminds us to keep an open mind. 🙂

    awwww Muse.. so nice of you…. 🙂
    i’ll check that page of urs when you are done…

    yes that is what i feel…. what is the use of reading and praising a good thought if you are not incorporating them in your life… 🙂

Leave a Reply

