Skip to content

Going green..!

September 15, 2009

For the health conscious person in me I have switched to the ‘Green tea’.

I love my coffee and everyone knows that and tea has always been a second preference.. not that I didn’t like tea. But it was always second to coffee.

But now I am loving tea more than my first love. (I mean coffee 🙂 )

Recently I had shifted to black tea as I didn’t like the taste of milk in tea. And i found  Black tea to be really great.

When I was in India I loved the tea with milk that mom made. Also the ones we drank at the railway stations.. not the ones in the train as they were more water and no milk.. not much taste. But strong ginger tea definitely interested me.

But here I had started avoiding tea totally. Maybe it’s the milk I don’t like here. So I decided to try the black tea as I couldn’t drink coffee all the time. And I loved the black tea. It has the strong taste and feel. And so I became a regular of that.

But now I am a step ahead and getting addicted to the wonderful heavenly green tea.

Last week I accidentally stumbled upon a box of green tea in my office. (Read in my super boss’s drawer, he is out of town and me and my boss are using this opportunity to the fullest 😉 by the time Superboss returns there might not be any left for him.)

So.. It is not just the great benefits it will have on my health that has pulled me to it.  But I dig the aroma and the taste.  The colour pleasing to the eye and the strong smell of ginger and lemon in my cup.. is aaaaaaahhhhhh….!!!!!

Even breathing it in refreshes my mind and soul.

I was wondering if green tea was better than black tea  and should I buy a box for myself, so I went looking for details. Turns out both are great for health. Not that I didn’t know before but never looked into it deeply.

Now I will make a habit of drinking both alternately as I love both.

Right now I am having a wonderful cup of hot and piping green tea.. and just looking out of the window…thinking nothing….. Life is bliss.

Nope have to hurry back to work…

32 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2009 9:54 am

    ROFL @ using the opportunity to the fullest 😛

    totally…. 😛 😛

    • September 15, 2009 9:55 am

      Sigh! I wanna hv some tea nw too 😉 Lemme go get some 😛

      and if you are having anything to eat too with the tea.. do call me.. 😀

  2. September 15, 2009 10:38 am

    Whats with all this green tea busines… now I have to try it once then I can think of it..

    sure do try it..

    I hate milk flavour too… but black tea doesnt appeal either… !!!

    i don’t like plain milk at all.. so it is either coffee or tea.. black tea is good but yes it can taste bitter at times..

    now lets try some green tea… give me some Indian brands…

    Lipton is a good brand.. not sure if it is indian.. but you’ll surely find it in the market..

  3. September 15, 2009 10:39 am

    You had the flavoured green tea ! that should be good, I hadnt tried it yet. The plain green tea isnt tasty at all !! But too good for health !!! I had these long ago; I stopped drinking tea and coffee since 2005 !!!

    Ah.. the guy without the vices (i mean just the tea and coffee here.. coz rest of them i am not sure.. 😉 )

    yes maybe it was the flavoured one… and so it has this great aroma and taste.. and good for health.. what more can u want…

    • September 15, 2009 4:04 pm

      lol…no, i dont drink alcohol (even wine) and I dont smoke too !!! Plus, I dot even have gums, for me that is also an addiction 😀 😀 😀

      OMG.. i agree with OG.. why r u living man….? not even gum…???

      for blogging i believe… 😉

      Try the plain green tea and let me know if you like it 😉

      sure… 😛 😛

      • September 16, 2009 6:00 am

        why are you living dude 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛
        everyone needs a vice 😛

        • September 16, 2009 7:21 am

          LOL, Im having other vices 😀 😀 😀 For example, Im short tempered ! or Im a spendthrift ! 😀 😀

          hmm.. now i know why you found the guy’s charecter in the last post interesting… i can see some similarities here… 😉

          but.. a guy with no vices and also a spendthrift .. great catch you are.. you fiance’ is a lucky girl.. 🙂 😀

          • September 20, 2009 8:58 am

            my god 😯 oorjas please dont give me any fancy ideas abt himself!!! 😀 😀

  4. September 15, 2009 11:43 am

    Me too heard that grren tea is really good for health… but I don’t like tea much… its always coffee I prefer.. still I love to drink.. but stopped having it daily. now only occassionally…

    me too a coffee person. maybe it is us tamilian’s blood.. 😀 /

    *But now I am loving tea more than my first love. (I mean coffee )*/

    Why this clarification??? :mrgreen: 😛 😛

    hehe.. u don’t know guys here.. they can make anything out of it…

  5. September 15, 2009 2:31 pm

    Me too Me too! moved to green tea and yes it does feel awesome. I used to be a total coffee person but quit about a year ago… now tea is my petrol… 🙂

    i haven’t quit coffee.. i don’t think i want to.. but tea has better health benefits than coffee.. so maybe some day… !?!?!?!
    hmmm…. no way.. 😛

    tea is ur petrol…? 😀 😀 hmm.. wonder how u run..? 😉

  6. September 15, 2009 4:14 pm

    I have never had green tea so dont know 🙂

    you should try once.. it is good… 🙂

  7. September 15, 2009 5:06 pm

    hi thank u for ur suggestion….

    always welcome dear.. hope it helps.. 🙂

  8. September 15, 2009 5:49 pm

    a post dedicated to tea?? interesting 🙂

    didn’t have anything else to write about.. 😉

    my dad is addicted to black tea. and yes green is better for health.
    but i usually avoid tea altogether…. i m a complete coffee person. rarely i have the traditional tea, milk, n sugar. and of course i love the railway chai… thats a class apart! 😀

    railway chai.. 🙂 that is special….. though it tastes quite milky.. but with cardamom.. it is great..

    hmm maybe someday i’ll switch to the healthier version. until then, yeh sab chalega 😉

    chala lenge.. 😉

  9. September 15, 2009 6:51 pm

    Oorja, Welcome to the Green gang 🙂 . My morning starts with Lemon+Honey+Lukewarm routine and then Green Tea later.

    Yay i am in a gang too.. 😀

    I do take a mid-morning Coffee with lot of cream.

    hmm.. sehat ka raaz… 😀 😀

  10. September 16, 2009 6:01 am

    i like normal tea……… rest of the things, i cannot digest 😛

    if you can digest self-made rajma.. you can digest anything.. 😉

  11. September 16, 2009 7:42 am

    Going Green with green tea..Good hain [:)] Heard that it’s very good for health.

    the way you said ‘good hai’.. reminded me of a cousin of mine.. she speaks just like you.. 🙂

    Assam tea is my cup of tea, that too only in office!

    why only in office…??

    Diggin super boss’ drawer? lol lol Yenjoy 😀

    absolutely yenjoying….!!!!! 🙂

    • September 18, 2009 9:35 am

      Hain ?? Good 🙂

      Assam tea is the only edible tea at work place 😛

  12. September 17, 2009 11:20 am

    Green Tea Great way to lose weight !!!! Doesnt Taste so great though!

    i am having the flavoured version and it is supergood..! and i am specially digging it for the taste..

    welcome here .. 🙂

  13. September 18, 2009 12:34 pm

    Never had any kinda tea in my life….

    Still like to have milk ..Oops sounds so kiddish..but thats fact :-):-)

    what no tea..? ever..? 🙄

    but yes i have a friend like you and she makes ery good tea.. so that’s fine.. she makes it i drink it..

    and i can’t stand the taste of milk.. but i know it is good for health.. so u r doing good… 🙂

  14. September 18, 2009 12:41 pm

    I like tea very much (with milk), I don’t drink coffee unless nothing else is there or if I am in CCD. I go to a certain hotel just because the tea there is great! I have tried black tea, not tried green tea though, not sure what is tasty about them, maybe time to give it another try??

    Destination Infinity

    tea is great.. and noone can deny that… but the way you like it is totally upon you.. but coffee is good too.. maybe you should try some good coffee out of CCD.. 🙂

  15. September 19, 2009 11:22 pm

    I LOVE tea with milk..good old fashioned chai just the way I like it 😀
    never was able to take to black tea or coffee..though willing to experiment with green tea after reading so much about it here 😀

    ya good old fashioned chai with biskut.. and surrounded by family.. that is life.. 😀

    as for the green tea try the flavoured version it is good.. as i have read some comments by now that warn you against the plain real green tea.. 😉

    all said and done though moi loves kullad chai 😀 😀

    kullad chai.. wow again reminds me of trains and Mathura station.. haina..?

  16. Apar permalink
    September 20, 2009 5:56 am

    I was off green tea at one time….felt I would lose weight just by puking because of how bad it was. Now, I dig it! My friend at work has these peach flavoured green tea -amazing. I like chamomile too 😀

    really its that bad..?

    peach flavoured tea..? now that is news for me..! 😀

  17. September 20, 2009 6:12 pm

    oh! u took to green tea so easily!!! here my friends are trying to adjust to the taste coz of its health and “slimming” benefits and they are really trying hard!!! its an aquired taste!

    hmm.. good i am not doing i under any slimming compulsion.. just for the taste..

    i guess the flavoured ones are easier on the tongue that the plain-jane green tea…

    yes.. yes.. far better .. i have learned now..

    plus, in India everyone is used to strong tea, bolied tea-leaves, and u simply cannot treat the green tea like that! 😛 gotta steep it right?

    ye have to keep it light.. and right.

    good use of opportunity! but next time ur super boss is gonna lock his cabin! :mrgreen:

    we have other ways to obtain… 😉

    yenjai ur green tea oorja!!!

    me no drinks tea or coffee!! never liked either!!! 😀 nimboo paani for crafty!!!!!!!!!

    now that is my healthy girl…! 😀

  18. September 23, 2009 10:08 am

    Do you really like green tea? I think it is an acquired taste.. difficult to accept for people who love Masala chai 🙂

    yes the flavoured one is really great..

    but i love masala chai too…. 🙂

  19. September 25, 2009 8:41 am

    Too tuch tea tis tad tor tealth! Tocus ton tork tand tess ton tea.

    thanks tor the tdvise.. 😀 😛

    telcome tere.. 🙂

  20. September 27, 2009 9:52 am

    Green tea, is supposed to be very good, isn’t it? I have never tried it – for some reason.. I am right now in a coffee phase – I keep oscillating between coffee and tea 🙂

    me no oscillating.. i love coffee.. but i tried this new one (new for me).. and i am loving it.. 🙂

    it is really very beneficial healthwise..

Trackbacks

  1. Going green..! « Oorja China Best Tea
  2. Going green..! « Oorja China Best Tea

Leave a Reply

