Skip to content

The sound of joy…

June 28, 2009

silver bell

The sound of metal on metal has always given me pleasure..

In school days it meant that the time allotted for our torture by a certain teacher was over.

Visits to temple had this incentive that we had a huge bell there and me loved to bang it with full force. Breaking the silence for many seconds.. Not to register to God that I was there.. But just because I loved to do it.

The keychain I have had since my school days.. and still have it… is a small bell. That is my secret charm that attracts kids. Be it any kid once I take the keychain out, it is history that no kid has ever had a second thought in coming right into my lap.

The wind chime that was a gift from my friends that hung right above the door.. made the sweetest sound (maybe of friendship) when the windows were kept open.

My purse too has a small metal buckle that makes the tiniest tinkles when I walk..

I just can’t have enough of this sound.. From the small *ting* to the big *gong*, though I prefer the small *ting tings*

The sound of the bells.. of all kinds.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2009 12:10 pm

    me the first.. yay 😀

    Yay you first.. 😀

  2. June 28, 2009 12:14 pm

    cool post Oorja.. 🙂

    me too love to bang bell in temples very much as a child 😀

    /* That is my secret charm that attracts kids. Be it any kid once I take the keychain out, it is history that no kid has ever had a second thought in coming right into my lap.*/

    Cool 🙂

    that is always fun.. why just in childhood i still do it.. 🙂

  3. June 28, 2009 1:14 pm

    The best sound I like is silence. The sound of silence. Somehow, I feel so good in the nights when everything around me is so very silent. The temple bell is too loud for me, but it is good to listen to from far. There is an electronic bell which sounds just like a wind-chime and plays when anyone visits Heartcrossing’s blog – check out.

    And thanks for the Pinball. I will start playing it online soon!! Right now I am playing the T20 game in cricinfo. Too good!

    Destination Infinity

    I love silence too.. that is my favourite.. especially at nights. 🙂

    but the bell’s sound has some sweetness to it..

    i am not into video games.. good you enjoy it..

  4. June 28, 2009 1:55 pm

    oh my god! i dislike bells. Once me and my sister put up a wind chime in our room and the whole night we couldnt sleep. The first thing I did was to take it down.

    you dislike bells..?
    i used to keep the centre piece tied away at night for sound sleep.. that works just fine.. and daytime it is pleasent music that comes from it..

  5. June 28, 2009 3:52 pm

    I like the sound of bells… temple and churches………. 😛
    good one Oorja 😛

    me too 🙂

  6. June 29, 2009 4:08 am

    hmm.. yeah.. I love the sweet *tinkles* of wind chimes as well… make such a sweet sound… bells are very soothing to the ear as well…

    if one believes in Chinese Feng Shui, wind chimes are actually supposed to drive away negative energies (referred to as ‘chi’) from the household… and even if you do not believe in it, the sound is really a refreshment for the ears.. you bet? 😛

    yes i’ve heard that too about Feng Shui… it drives the negative energy away. maybe because the sound pleases the soul and when we are peaceful we become more positive. 🙂

  7. June 29, 2009 5:22 am

    I found metal clinking very irritating. Sound on waves on the other hand is my favorite.

    Sound of waves is also very pleasing. the gushing of water and then running back.. then coming forward again with a rush.. nice..

    bell is not just any metal clinking.. it is music.. it has rythm.. and wind chimes are pleasing..

  8. June 29, 2009 5:47 am

    that’s a really different post… nice one! 🙂
    wedding bells… alarms bells…. even metaphors use the help of sounds to emphasise things!

    Yes a really different post.. just wrote what i was feeling without thinking much..

    alarm bells are not my kinda bells.. wedding bells.. not again.. 🙂

  9. June 29, 2009 5:59 am

    Ah! Me too 🙂

    I even have a footwear which has small bell like things (kind of ghunghroo) on it and when I walk there is cham-cham around 😉

    Like you most of key rings that I have. have bells but yes I manage to break them in a fortnight 😉

    Nice Sweet post.

    I have a kurti that has small ghunghroos on it.. with the mildest ‘chan chan’.. 🙂

    though i can not say the same about wearing a ‘Payal’.. though i like the sound but can’t wear them somehow..

    • June 29, 2009 10:06 am

      lol 😀 Even I had one such kurta and I have an aversion towards payal.

      great minds think alike..! 🙂

      • June 29, 2009 11:16 am

        me too! me too!! 😀
        kurta and footwear that makes that mild chan chan sound 😀
        I LOVE it 😀

        You too.. that’s a nice coincidence.. 😀

        me too .. love it.. 😀

        • June 30, 2009 5:51 am

          lol @ great minds think alike!!!

          I say I agree 😉

          😀 😉

  10. June 29, 2009 6:11 am

    yup…..during childhood the most pleasent sound was the sound of bells..
    gud one..:):)

    kaunsa.. school ka chutti wala bell..? 😀

  11. June 29, 2009 11:18 am

    A really different and beautiful post Oorja 🙂
    specially loved these lines

    That is my secret charm that attracts kids. Be it any kid once I take the keychain out, it is history that no kid has ever had a second thought in coming right into my lap.
    😀
    oh yes! it gets them all excited and curious na? 😀

    Oh they get so curious.. they look inside and around as how sound is coming.. then stick their fingers in.. they are just too cute.. 😀 some put them in their mouths too. so i keep it always washed and clean…. 😀

    I still remember the sound of school ki chutti wali ghnati :@D
    my last school(when I passed out of 12th) had an extremely IRRITATING alarm! 😦
    that used to bug me like hell!

    we had the traditional bell at our school. 🙂

    I love the sound of bells be it any bell..ofcourse too much of anything is irritating but in moderation I LOVE bells 🙂

    of course modetrately.. can’t have it all the time but mostly i just love it.. 🙂

  12. June 29, 2009 4:15 pm

    Heyyy, I hear the same ‘ting’ and ‘gong’ when some metal hits my head 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

    i can imagine.. 😀 😀

    Btw, I love the sound of wind chimes, but the wooden ones. They give an African touch !

    ya they are very nice too..

    I love the sound of cycle bells though. Trrrrrriiiinnng !!! 😀

    LOL.. pasand apni apni.. 😀 😀

  13. June 29, 2009 6:35 pm

    i dont like metal clanging noises .. ghungroos are fun ..but i doubt if i will wear them after the novelty wears off ..i like seeing bells.. the big ones in temples and churches .. but prefer them not ringing.. wind chimes are the best .. the gentle ting ting as the chime sashays and sways to the breeze ..!! love it !..

    i too am not interested in all metal clinking.. but bells especially the small ones make real sweet sound..

    maybe we enjoy wind chimes more as we enjoy the breeze too with it.. 🙂

  14. June 29, 2009 7:27 pm

    I can’t sleep when wind chimes are making all the sound. I like to listen to them when I am awake but I want silence while sleeping! 🙂

    Me too.. i like them when i am awake..

  15. June 29, 2009 10:04 pm

    The sound of silence is the best. I love sound that comes from pillars of old temples. You know ‘saptaswaram’. Like you knock on each pillar and it goes sa re ga ma….I love that.

    I have wind chimes outside and the faint sound when wind blows is bliss!

    “Silence is golden” and rarely found… 🙂

    i haven’t tried pillars yet… do they..?

    distant chimes would be even sweeter… 🙂

Leave a Reply

