Skip to content

Out of “My Shell”

May 18, 2009

alone

I have changed the theme again and for good. I like this one. The last time I saw the preview it seemed a bit loud for my taste. Now I don’t know how to explain that. But it did at that time. Now I feel it is perfect. For now…..

I am a moody person. I learnt.

Few days ago life was getting a bit monotonous and hence it reflected while choosing the theme. Dull, austere, simple whatever you call it. It was primarily no-nonsense, just to the point, as I generally am.

But there was more to it than that. I was in ‘My Shell’ as my friend calls it. Yes it is kind of a phase in my cycle of life, where I get into this ‘shell’ and reduce all contacts with everyone and just be with myself. That happens atleast once in every 2-3 months. And that is what she dislikes very much. According to her I am generally not very expressive but during my ‘shell’ days I am non-reachable. No matter how hard she tries.

Not that I won’t talk to her, or cut off. But I won’t be available emotionally. And I get that complaint from everyone but not as much as her, and no one else has understood it and given it a particular name.

The last time I was in this shell was some 5-6 months ago, that is before I started my blog and I attribute that success of keeping me out of my shell for this long to my blog and blog buddies.

Now that I am coming out of the latest one I am feeling more energetic than ever.

This new part time job that was assumed to be injurious to my health actually was the boost that I needed. I feel more energetic when I work more; I seem to gain energy from spending it.

I feel more expressive and want to do more. I am getting spurts of new ideas regarding anything and everything. It is as if my brain was shutdown for sometime and restarted with full energy.

In my ‘shell’ days I felt severe writer’s block. I had nothing to say. So I went about looking for ‘how to overcome the writer’s block’ and I came across an article which confused me.

It said that if you are stuck with this block you must read something worse than yours and you’ll feel that you can do better than this and you’ll be back on track.

I totally disagree. If I want to be good I would like to read something good, better or great so that it triggers my creativity and I get good ideas. Reading something bad would just make me feel bad that I am not even able to come up with something as bad as this.

Every time I read something good my creative juices flow in rapid speed and words come out like never before. But if I start reading something bad or boring, that will just block my brain.

I’d rather read ‘good stuff’ while I am not writing than waste my time reading boring stuff. Atleast that time will be well spent. And I’ll come out of it with some gained knowledge in my area of interest.

I’ve also been reading a lot in psychology these days, which I seemed to have sidetracked. And that again helped in reviving me.

Now I am saying I am out of it, but don’t believe me yet…

But atleast ‘Today I am feeling great’ that is am sure.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2009 9:45 am

    Hmm are u a Cancerian? cancerian are known to retreat into shells time to time as per lunar cycle 🙂

    not a Cancerian.. 🙂
    yes i’ve read they do and have had first hand experience too.

  2. May 18, 2009 9:53 am

    Hey, which Psychology book do you follow? I have some interest there as well. Can you please refer some names? 😀

    i feel psychology can’t be followed with any book. i read a lot on the net.
    if you want to begin try where every one starts – Personality theories given by Freud, Jung, Adler and Maslow. you’ll find some interesting concepts there. 🙂

  3. May 18, 2009 9:58 am

    i’m quite moody and have ‘personal’ retreats but they never last long because i like company. 🙂 however, i did know someone who would cut off from everybody and not communicate for weeks and months. i really don’t understand the reason behind doing so but i think that friend had depression. not saying that you do, but just that don’t get too caught up inside your shell that you worry your loved ones. 🙂

    as for overcoming writer’s block, i think different things work for different people. for me, i sometimes get writer’s block because of the rigidity of the writing structure. i might feel i want to write it a certain way but i don’t know how. that’s the best part about blogging – there are no limitations except those you impose on yourself. and that can be easily waved away to overcome writer’s block! 🙂

    Hmm… i don’t actually cut off.. i keep contact, talk, laugh, and be with people just as ever, only that i don’t put my heart into it.. that too not intentionally it just happens. many don’t even notice the change, just the close ones do.

    that’s the great part of blogging you can even write a few words and call it a post. no fixed structure or rules. just your space.

  4. May 18, 2009 11:00 am

    Nice to you a little bit more about you. Welcome back from your shell! 🙂 Looking forward to many more nice posts.

    🙂 me too hoping for the same….

  5. May 18, 2009 11:45 am

    I’m glad you’re out of your shell and are riding the new burst of energy wave :). I’m known to get into such slumps and crawl into my shell too. I guess in these crazy times, the mind and self need to wind and unwind to remain healthy! 🙂

    i see it in a healthy way too… it is really like unwinding.. and refreshing your mind.

  6. May 18, 2009 11:49 am

    I know what you mean. I ahve too many shell days sometimes, thats why my blog too has near-death experiences till I come out of my shell and rescue it.

    good you rescue it, and do you feel you write better after these days?

  7. May 18, 2009 3:33 pm

    the break once in a while is good in a way… it helps u take a step back and just chill. and come back to ur routine refreshed. i hope u’re back for good… atleast for now.

    and i agree on reading good stuff to get ur writer’s block moving. reading bad stuff just blocks out even whatever existing good ideas ur brain has.
    so let ur mind be free, let it wander. thats what i do. somewhere it will, on its own, come across ideas, incidents, thoughts which u will eventually go on to develop into something else!

    yes very much like a break. you return refreshed.
    and now i have many posts to read and comment.. and still busy till the 31st..

    i would read good stuff any day.. it definitely helps some day.. 🙂

  8. May 18, 2009 6:21 pm

    I am always in a shell. See, your situation is better than mine right? So, cheer up!

    Destination Infinity

    you’re always in the shell…? maybe who think too much retract into those kind of shells for giving the mind and brain some rest. do you think a lot..? beause i do.

  9. May 18, 2009 8:30 pm

    I like this theme..coz I love it too:)

    being in the shell?totally get it coz was in mine for sometime..though not as drastically as you probably…but then you come across as a very quiet gentle soul:)
    reminds me of one of my friends:)

    and yeah agree with you also on how to get rid of the writer’s block 🙂
    take care:)
    happy to see you recharged 😀

    and you won’t believe you remind me so much of the friend who named this behaviour of mine as the shell. she’s just like you… 😀

  10. May 18, 2009 11:23 pm

    Oorja, I am same when it comes to retreating to the shell from time to time. There are times when I don’t want to talk to anyone but be by myself. I have always been like this.

    I had the same feeling when I first saw Vigilance theme. I was not sure but Chirag gave me the confidence and then I used it too and I am still using it. This is one of the best WP themes.

    seems we are quite similar.. 🙂

    i feel it is very necessary to keep in touch with yourself as you do with the outer world.
    and these days i am getting the time to do that as the extra project i am doing, doesn’t need my heart or mind. just the brain will do. so i am getting to recharge the rest of the two.
    if i were at home i would have needed to work all three.. so this project actully is doing more good than harm to my health 🙂

  11. Pal permalink
    May 19, 2009 1:03 pm

    Guess we all have our phases! So long as we are aware and can survive, I guess its fine. Blogrolling u now, so I don’t miss out on any more of your posts!
    Cheers…
    Pal

    🙂 phase it was.. and is gone for now..

  12. May 19, 2009 6:28 pm

    Try taking long walks in a country setting. The rhythm of walking I find is wonderful for thinking creative thoughts.

    Then, when you return home, turn on your computer and prepare to write, out these thoughts will come, as your fingers race over keyboard.

    oh i love walking… and it is true that during my walk i get great ideas.. unfortunately i don’t live by the country.. but i can get the ideas on a man made walking track with trees and fresh grass… naure calms and inspires…

    Welcome here… 🙂

  13. May 19, 2009 9:03 pm

    achcha?
    so more (((hugs))) for that 😀
    for being like your friend 😀

    (((Hugs back))) hugs are welcome anytime 😀

  14. May 20, 2009 3:57 am

    I also go through such phases the only difference is that the phases are veeeeeeeery short but yes I get bored very easily and in every 15 days feel like having a change 🙂

    I guess such things are a part of our personality and they help us in refreshing our thought processes 🙂

    me too.. i keep changing things around me to keep life interesting.. 🙂

  15. Apar permalink
    May 20, 2009 1:53 pm

    Aah…the shell. Wish I knew where mine was? There are those who would like me to go into mine 😀
    Nice theme btw, I know of at least one person using the same theme 😉

    Looking forward to your nice posts! 🙂

    🙂 you want to get into the shell..? well it is a good a idea as it really brings out a new you. 🙂

  16. May 20, 2009 10:03 pm

    It seems that we all are very “shelly”. 😛
    I too have those shell days at times and it is a very difficult period for my friends because I treat them like glass panes. 🙂 I just look through them. I just keep on inflicting pain on myself.
    Just come out of it. Its not worth it. 🙂

    you too are a ‘shelly’ one..
    well.. it teaches us how attachment and detachment are possible at the same time… 🙂

  17. May 21, 2009 10:00 am

    totally relate to what u r saying ..my shell officially ended this afternoon .. when i get bugged with myself i come out 🙂 .. but it does help to get into the shell once in a while .. new perspective to things ! .. like the new template !..

    🙂 it is just the way to rejuvenate..

Leave a Reply

