Skip to content

One for each autumn

April 25, 2009

I was tagged by Chiranjib to write 25 things about myself,

 

As If, I haven’t written enough with ‘The most revealing tag’ and ‘The weird me’ and ‘Me Googled’..

 

But it is still justified as No one can write everything about themselves as no one knows the self fully so we keep discovering new things. And so have I. and I’d like to compile a few things that I have found out about myself in this journey.

 

Here it goes –

 

1. I have seen 25 autumns in my life (hence the title). Though the first few I don’t remember but am sure were as special as the rest.

 

2. I am very sentimental about things. If it reminds me of anyone or any special day I keep it. Old ticket stubs, dried flowers, old buckles, I have even saved some piece of the Rakhi I tie my bro every year.. I have a bunch of old stuff that I can’t throw away.

 

3. Quite contrary to the pervious one, once I decide to leave something back I never look back and regret about it.

 

4. I love watching movies. Any kind depending on the mood, not much into horror though. But I can watch even the flops to see why they flopped.

 

5. I like reading stories. Maybe that is also the reason for watching movies as they are also stories told visually.

 

6. I have climbed a stage and compered a Programme in front of 450-500 people. Was very scary in the beginning but being on the stage does have a drugging effect to it. Ye dil mange more. .

 

7. I am a fan of the Sun signs. I’ve read the Linda Goodman’s sun signs so many times that I can answer any quizzes about the book without having to refer to it ever.

 

8. I am not a morning person and would prefer to be left alone in the morning. But if needed, I can wake up even at 4 am to perform any needed task.

 

9. I love walking. And I am a regular on that.

 

10. In the last 2 years I have lost about 10kgs. No need to be jealous. I was at my ideal weight before that.

 

11. I like to learn something from every person I meet. What I should do and many a times what I should not.

 

12. I love helping anyone and everyone with everything but when it comes to asking for help I just can’t. Not just monetary, I just can’t ask for any helps or favours.

 

13. I am not very emotional. That is I don’t cry easily. When I got married and was leaving the whole family everyone was crying except me. I tried, but I couldn’t bring out even a few fake tears atleast to show the family that I will miss them. (But I do miss them)

 

14. I love discussions. Call them debates or arguments whatever you prefer. I can take any side and go on.. I love to see new point of views of every topic.

 

15. I can’t do small talk. I find it useless. I can either be a silent listener or go for a full fledged discussion. I find it hard to just talk about the weather or what the woman next door is cooking for dinner tonight.

 

16. On cooking, I cook fine but you won’t find me hanging out in the kitchen or searching for new recipe blogs.

 

17. Since I read “Men are from Mars, women are from Venus” I find that I think more like men.

 

18. I can’t waste water. And I hate it when people do. I totally abide to “Use as much as you need.”

 

19. I use money as I use water. Just enough for my need. And none if there is no need.

 

20. I love photography. I click snaps wherever possible. My mobile is full of roadside and dustbin cat snaps.

 

21. I feel I am a minimalist.

 

22. I feel I am very self confident, to an extent that it gets to overconfidence at times.

 

23. My kind of humor is sarcastic. Slapstick doesn’t tickle me that much.

 

24. I am not much into sports or video games, though I like watching Cricket when India is playing well. And I used to love the ‘Super Mario’ and ‘Battle city’ when dad got us the videogame years ago.

 

25. I love music, how can I miss this. I sing along with every song that I hear from anywhere. I even sing the jingles from the ads along. My bro says I am like the radio itself, change songs every few minutes. But don’t be mistaken that I sing well. It is just that I enjoy my songs from my heart and not my ear. (Though I should consider other’s ears too) I don’t want to get into the mathematics of songs and dissect them technically. I feel I can enjoy the song more this way so I do. And songs are there to enjoy right..?

Chiranjib Thanks for tagging me. You have helped me in digging my life and getting things out which I could have forgotten in later years and let me put them permanently on the net.

 

Now who should I tag..? Well you came in, you are tagged, unless of course you’ve done it already.

 

No need to panic I forgot to write one important thing about myself. “I can’t force anyone to do anything against their will” maybe the selfish reason behind this is that I want to be treated the same way. This doesn’t mean don’t tag me. This means you can pick up the tag if only you wish.

 

And so I finish one more revealing tag and this one really tells a lot about me. Now you all know me a lot better.

 

Maybe as much as I know myself.

 

No way.. There’s more where it came from. Saving it for further tags.

 

17 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2009 3:02 pm

    i can say ditto for more than half of the points! gosh… its so surprising…

    so it is not wrong that ‘Birds of a feather flock together’.

  2. April 25, 2009 6:17 pm

    Haha I too like watching cricket when India is playing well. No video games for me. I love watching movies and read stories. Wish if I could make a living out of it, I would be good at it. 🙂

    LOL we all would be good at that… 🙂

  3. April 26, 2009 6:28 am

    Even I love walking but not regular.. on weekends if I go out I prefer to walk than going by bus to places within a km or 2 km…

    me too like to watch movies a lot and books but it wil be mostly in Tamil 🙂

    A book is a book and a movie is a movie no matter which language it is.
    i too watch a lot of Tamil movies. the ones they show on Sun TV.

  4. April 26, 2009 2:04 pm

    a lot of dittos.. like 2,3,4,5,8,9,18 and 25 ! .. nicely done !!

    really these many.. same pinch..! 🙂

  5. April 26, 2009 4:59 pm

    // I can’t do small talk. I find it useless.
    Ditto! And to add insult to injury, I have to indulge in it at times. I hate it!

    me too.
    in my job too.. to maintain a friendly customer relationship you have to.

  6. April 26, 2009 5:30 pm

    Hi Oorja, great to know these things about you. Quite astonished to see that we have a LOT in common! 🙂

    Hi, you too.. wow we all seem to have a few things in common. feels great to meet like minded people.

  7. April 26, 2009 6:03 pm

    Very honest answers. loved the tag.

    2, 3 & 4. Same here.

    13. I weep like a baby. LOL.

    You are very sportive with tags and so get ready for more !! 😀

    honest.. you bette.. i may not be very open about speaking about me but once i decide to tell something i prefer to tell the truth only.

    LOL at weeping like the baby, i do that sometimes during movies or books.

    sportive..! it took me more than a week to come up with this one. it is really tough. i think i have a few pending which i am going to stall till others forget about that. 😉

  8. April 27, 2009 1:04 am

    7 & 8 is me too.

    Oh! on 10.

    I LOVE 14. I play devil’s advocate often and also get into trouble because of that.

    Ahemm..kinda agree with 22 and 23 too.

    🙂

    14 is fun.

    you noticed 10. i am a bit worried about that now. what i said at 21 was about my food too.

  9. April 27, 2009 7:37 am

    Same pinch for 4 & 12..
    Gr8 to know lot about you !!
    Point 10 is big achievement….i need to follow that after my delivery 🙂

    Me too luv photography a lot..
    Very honestly done tag..

    🙂

    10. yes a lot of walking is the key.

  10. April 27, 2009 11:00 am

    2 – I used to be like that but have travelled so much in the recent past that I gave up 😦
    3 – Me too
    9 – Same here – can walk anywhere, anytime!
    10 – Wow!
    12 – ‘I just can’t ask for any helps or favours.’ – Same here…
    14 – Totally!!! Same here!!!
    23 – My kind of humor is sarcastic. – Same here

    That was a lovely tag – and a lovely title too!! Was nice getting to know you a little more 🙂

    thanks..
    and with this tag i too came to know that my friends are just like me. 🙂
    still we are all unique too in our own ways. 🙂

  11. April 28, 2009 7:43 am

    I cry buckets; I imagine and cry; I think and weep! And I like crying!

    BTW I am not doing this theme now or later! Already have 3 pending!

    And please change the theme now! Pehleez! Check out the latest one that I am using now!

    And you leave a link of all these tag posts in your about page.

    well.. crying is not a bad thing but i am just not very regular.

    i have mentioned in the last few lines that you may or may not pick up the tag. so no need to worry.

    i’ve tried new themes already but i still like this one best.

    and that is a really good idea. will do. 🙂

  12. April 28, 2009 7:44 am

    err.. error above..

    “This theme” in second para is ‘this tag’! 😦

    no problem that was just a freudian slip of tongue (hand in this case).

  13. April 28, 2009 2:19 pm

    Thanks Thanks Thanks 😀

    Only one question from my end: Do you have book “Love Signs” by Linda Goodman? 🙂

    Welcome.. 🙂

    sorry i don’t. but i have read it once. if i ever buy it i’ll let you know.

  14. May 10, 2009 5:31 pm

    hey I am a fan of LG too!! which sun sign r u? I am a Gemini.
    And I too cant wake up in morning!just cant!

    me a Sagittarian. 🙂

  15. May 19, 2009 7:14 pm

    Interesting post and concept.

    I enjoy knowing what others have to say about my future, but I hardly believe any of that.

    Initially, I was going to make a list of things common between us, but then decided against it…lazy me 😉 Now am glad I didn’t make one, my list would’ve surpassed anyone else’s by a HUGE margin. Why should I rob you and me our individualities, right?

    TC.

    let me tag you with it so that i too get to know more about you.. 🙂

  16. May 19, 2009 7:21 pm

    BTW, do you like Jim Carrey movies, and spoofs like ‘scary movies’?

    Well, I just counted and my claim in the previous post turned out to be too tall. Like, there are only 11 points common between us. 🙂 TC.

    yes i’ve seen many of Jim Carrey’s movies and also the ‘Scary movie’.. i like them at times when my personal mood is light. otherwise… they are mostly slapstick…

    oh only 11.. seems we are more different than what you thought.

Trackbacks

  1. One for each autumn

Leave a Reply

