Skip to content

Purpose of Life..

March 31, 2009

Do you know what your purpose in life is…?

Earning money, fame..? Getting more power and getting to a higher position in life..? Buying a house, car or even a yatch..? Getting married & raising children..? Or for some it may be as simple as cooking & cleaning for the family.

What are all these? Are these your goals in life or the purpose of your life…? are you born for this..?

We all live to get somewhere. Some of us know where we are headed; but most of us discover it daily, where their life is taking them because they have no plans, no targets, and no goals. They just live for the sake of living. Wake up everyday to find 24 hours ahead and at the end of it standing right where they started. Going nowhere.

The best way to know the purpose of life is not to think what or whom you want but  really what or who needs you the most. it is not just about us, what we have and want and get but about what are we really here for. Many of us don’t think in that direction.

We don’t even give US fully to OURSELF. We don’t even spend enough time with ourselves.

Now you may ask, how can we not be with ourselves. That is so ridiculous. But if you think properly it is not. Most of our time is spent with people; rest with the gadgets, watching T.V, listening to music or reading newspaper or a book or a blog.

I am not against any of these. These are very essential for life, and I myself spend a lot if time in all this. But apart from all this do you give yourself 10 minutes of quiet? When the radio is turned off; no blaring T.V, not picking up after the family left, not checking mails or blogs, Just alone in silence with yourself..!

Many of us are afraid of that, thinking we would be lonely. So we overwhelm ourselves with people & noises. We can’t even listen to what the ‘I’ inside is saying, we don’t even know there is an ‘I’ inside.

Give yourself some time. Be just with yourself. Listen to yourself. Then you’ll know what your purpose in life is, what you actually want the most. Maybe your higher calling. Not just the materialistic growth but the spiritual as well, spiritual not necessarily meaning religious. Spiritual growth is different from religious growth. Though with faith both can lead to same serene mental level.

Where you can feel the peace & quiet even in crowd. Feel healthy solitude not loneliness. feel similarly about good and bad.

Listen to what the inner ‘I’ has to say. It’ll tell you your true purpose in life.

31 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2009 7:51 am

    Beautiful thoughts in simple words… an awesome read!

    Thanks for your words 🙂

    thanks..
    Welcome here.. 🙂

  2. March 31, 2009 12:12 pm

    Thought provoking ideas,expressed in simple words! 🙂

    Like all I too was caught up with the mundane things, until recently when my uncle told this concept of sitting in Silence.Practising it now, and ya Oorja it is bliss!

    it is bliss.. i used to have that time but recently with my job and home to handle i am missing that. hence this post.

  3. Prasad permalink
    March 31, 2009 12:17 pm

    i hav to say, i hav read only the first 2 lines of the post…and i wanna answer the question!

    the Purpose of Life is to be Happy 😀

    very right.. the purpose of any life is to be happy.. but the question is what makes you happy..? 🙂

  4. March 31, 2009 1:57 pm

    nice post. I try to give myself 8 hrs daily by sleeping 😉 😛

    🙂 hmm.. that is good atleast the brain and the body get some rest.

  5. March 31, 2009 2:01 pm

    Intense thought written in simple and beautiful way…i m follower of brahmakumaris ( http://www.brahmakumaris.org/)..they have quite similar teaching what u have said in above post..I practice talking to innerself from quite some time now….and feel those 10-15mins of morning makes me charged up for whole day…

    that is great.. i have heard a lot about them but never happened to actually know any of their methods & teachings.

    even if not able to follow someone all of us should find our own ways to do that.

  6. March 31, 2009 2:45 pm

    Very nicely put. Thanks for posting this!

    i had written this a few days ago.. had it in draft.. your previous post inspired me to publish it.

  7. March 31, 2009 2:57 pm

    Your posts always make me think…and re think….

    I am a strong believer of taking out time for self and come what may I manage to 🙂

    happy to hear that. 🙂

    we spend so much time beautifying the body can’t we spare 10 mins for our mind..!

  8. March 31, 2009 5:00 pm

    A refreshingly different post – different from the feminist and politicized topics on other blogs, I mean.

    thanks a lot..
    welcome here.. 🙂

  9. March 31, 2009 7:01 pm

    That is a thought provoking post there, Oorja. The quest of life never ends.

    🙂
    if the quest ends there is no life.

  10. March 31, 2009 7:26 pm

    Thought provoking and beautiful!
    life is quite complicated at times…one wonders why…

    there is the answer in itself..

    it is difficult only at times.. rest is beautiful.. we fail to see that thinking about the past or future complications. 🙂

  11. March 31, 2009 9:31 pm

    Nice post !

    It has been nearly two years since my roomie left and ever since that I have been able to spend a lot of time for myself. I indulge in my singing, recording, composing, and the rest of my works. Well, its not my purpose or goal in life. It keeps me happy, it keeps me fresh and most importantly, it keeps me alive !

    major changes in life do leave us with either a lot of time or with no time at all for ourself.

    great you are enjoying it doing things you like. this way you have a good outlet of your creative energy.

    and you forgot blogging.. 😉

  12. March 31, 2009 9:38 pm

    i actually think to myself a lot more these days compared to my college times, which is one of the reasons why i miss college. i think i’m not having enough human interaction on a daily basis! personally, i have enough of myself. 😆

    as for what my true purpose is in life, i would say that it is what i want it to be and it can change if i want it to. 🙂 it is all up to me!

    🙂 get enough of yourself..LOL!

    wish i could do that.

  13. March 31, 2009 11:20 pm

    I thought about what you have said sometimes. I have some goals to achieve but I always seem to be occupied and in the process I forget them. Every word you have written is true. There is some purpose for us in being here. A nice post 🙂

    when you look only at the destination you forget to check what kind of path you are taking to get there. 🙂

  14. April 1, 2009 4:39 am

    guess it will take me a lifetime to figure out my purpose.. till then , grappling and groping along the corridors of life will have to do ..;-) .. nice post !

    Zoink…! 😉

  15. Prasad permalink
    April 1, 2009 6:28 am

    wat makes me Happy!!!! well even the briyani tht i had last nite made me happy! therez a whole lot of things tht make me happy 😀

    glad to know that life gives you a lot of happy moments.. 🙂
    bless you..

  16. Chirag Chamoli permalink
    April 1, 2009 6:40 am

    Purpose of Life… well sometime, its the wrong question we ask ourselves, I mean why there has to be a purpose? In the words of one of the best thinks of our times “Let it be”

    you’re talking about “karm kar phal ki icha mat kar” let life find its own course..
    do ‘Nishkama Karma’..
    that is of great help too… but for that one needs to attain peace with him/herself.. and silence helps in that.

  17. April 1, 2009 10:26 am

    As I’ve recently discovered, the purpose of my life is apparently to consume so much beer that I wouldn’t regret it! 😀

    that way you’d not be in your senses to regret anything. 😉

  18. April 1, 2009 10:57 am

    very spiritual..I guess people are afraid of the inner noise..they just want to be busy wid something or the other…listening to the ‘I’ leads the real purpose of our existence..gr8 to find a spiritual blogger!!

    yes maybe we are afraid to face the reality as if listen to the inner ‘I’ it will require lot of effort to take the path it suggests. so we try to avoid it.

    well i like to think about everything.. and spirituality is one of those. i do like to write about other things too..

  19. Secondsight permalink
    April 1, 2009 9:54 pm

    Wandered over from Neeraja’s blog.. lovely post! Especially liked this line- “We don’t even give US fully to OURSELF” !:)

    have seen your comments there. thanks..
    welcome here.. 🙂

  20. Chirag Chamoli permalink
    April 2, 2009 8:12 am

    silence is awesome.

    so our ancestors said ‘silence is golden’ but we rarely get it these days.

  21. Chirag Chamoli permalink
    April 2, 2009 9:51 am

    Thought you’ll like this it is a Zen quote.

    “Speech is blasphemy, silence a lie. Above speech and silence there is a way out.”
    I-tuan

    thanks i’ve never heard it before.

  22. April 2, 2009 11:41 am

    purpose of life : to be satisfied and content 😛
    well i think there is always a need to indulge in introspection, to be with ourselves and to minutely observe the changes one is under going . at least i do it to get a taste of “myself” else there would be no difference between me and the outside world

    ps- i really love such posts which tells you “hey wait a minute you are going too fast ” . so thanks 😛

    analysing your action and speech really does teach you a lot about yourself.

    here i am also talking about the reason of your existance in this world. why does this world need you..? what are you contributing to it..?

  23. Apar permalink
    April 4, 2009 4:39 am

    I was just talking about this with a couple of my really good friends yesterday!! coincidence?!
    Hope I can listen to me and find my purpose of life! 🙂
    Nice read as usual

    i think sometime the purpose can wait till we fulfill the goals of life. in your case A’s life is your main goal right now.

    how’s your job going on?

  24. April 4, 2009 10:30 am

    why does this world needs me????…….hmmmmmm……thats a difficult one. i guess every individual has his/her own importance and i think its me , you and every single person who makes this world. well so i think the world needs me for its existence ( not the entire world but my close surroundings)
    what i am contributing to it?…….let me think about this. i will surely come back with a reply(introspecting!)

    yes the world needs everybody as what is black for one could be white for the other.

  25. April 4, 2009 10:13 pm

    That is something very important. I am glad that I do give myself some time and do things which I love!

    on the right path…

  26. April 6, 2009 5:25 am

    I agree with what you said 🙂 People need to talk to themselves more and not be so gullible…the world would be a better place 🙂

    yes rightly said. 🙂

  27. April 13, 2009 12:03 pm

    Nice thoughts…
    This is one of the simplest as well as the most difficult question to answer. I dont know whether I will ever be able to answer this or not. But what is really important is that we should not stagnate. Its not our fate. We should keep on poking life with new questions – so that in return she can give us some answers related to the purpose of our life.
    And when you say that talking to oneself is really important, you are spot on in ur analysis. But I have seen that whenver you leave somone alone with nothing to do, they just cant manage that situation. They want someone to prove their existence. And that is really very sad. Whenever we are alone is actually the best time to answer the question of purpose of our life.
    Lets all of us answer this question of yours as soon as possible.
    Amen 🙂

    Amen 🙂

    i wish for that too.
    Welcome here.. 🙂

  28. April 28, 2009 1:00 pm

    This is a good post. Sometimes, people live their whole lives and yet are not able to answer that single question….

    Destination Infinity

    thanks..
    hope who atleast are searching for it get theirs in their lifetime.

  29. May 19, 2009 9:12 pm

    Hi!

    I’ve done a lot of that, that is staying with myself, and thinking of what I want in life (intrinsic purpose), and how am I supposed to influence the world around me (extrinsic purpose).

    And I surmised, the purpose of my life is to enjoy each and every moment. So, the next question would be what do I enjoy? Somehow, thinking, knowing, discussing, articulating, are all one of them. 🙂

    I praise you for taking time to introspect and observing others. TC.

    you’ve done that.. that is great.. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Pages tagged "married... with children"
  2. A word with the readers.. « Oorja

Leave a Reply

