Skip to content

Wait before you give the final verdict

March 26, 2009

Trying to expand my business, i was calling some companies this morning to just leave my details in case they wanted to call back as I can not actually contact all the people in the city. And was getting pissed by either people not picking up the call or if the receptionist picked up then by the ignorance or in capability to transfer the call to the person I needed to talk to.

I called A bank where the computerized machine asked me to dial 1 if I wanted to talk to X dept and 2 if to Y department and so on and hold if I am confused whom to talk to. So I did. The phone kept ringing for about 12 rings with no one picking up.. I was not getting any happier. This bank is pathetic were my exact words. I put the phone down, a bit strongly this time. It had happened 3-4 times already this morning.

Then I decided for the last time and gave it a last try. Again the computerized machine and the waiting, but suddenly I heard an angel. She greeted me sweetly and gave me all the details I needed, took my contact details and said will forward it to the concerned person, and then she said ‘Have a nice day’. I was ecstatic to hear that. She is the first person who has done that in days and that too so sweetly. I wished her the same and put the phone down gently with a big smile on my face. No matter if I don’t get a call back from the bank, no matter if she forwards my details or not, but I just want to bless her for behaving so humanely.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2009 8:10 am

    OOrja, I know what you mean. For a v brief period of time, when my results werent declared yet, I have called and I know how it feels. 🙂

    Are you a freelancer? What is your business about? Maybe I can spread the word around?

    not a freelancer.. i work in an office as a sales executive.. i meant.. to improve my sales i tried to contact the concerned department..

    thanks a lot for the nice gesture.. *HUGS*

    i need to contact local companies only.

  2. March 26, 2009 12:19 pm

    I can understand ur frustation..as i also started my career as sales executive…did it for one month only…..
    But good atlast u were able to talk to humble angel:-)

    really i was losing my patience.. bless that angel.

  3. March 26, 2009 12:36 pm

    Courtesy is a virtue that is quickly diminishing in the corporate world :(…Can totally relate to your experience.

    not just in the corporate world….

  4. March 26, 2009 1:00 pm

    ha ha ha .. now i’ve been on both the sides .. most people in banks(not the branch staff !) dont pick up their land lines.. the fear of the unknown and most often than not .. more work !! 🙂 .. dat said, i know what it feels like to be put on to a receptionist who is even remotely nice to u !!.. and happy selling !!

    Ah that’s what it is.. i thought they knew it was someone trying to sell something.
    thanks.. 🙂

  5. March 26, 2009 1:10 pm

    When we are down these nice gestures will do good for us like no other… hope you will get the required details also soon 🙂

    we all are reminded that time to time with these kind of incidents…
    thanks..

  6. March 26, 2009 4:20 pm

    All the best for your work 🙂

    Very few people reply politely these days.

    thanks.. 🙂
    but am glad there still are few.

  7. March 26, 2009 4:48 pm

    same happens here…we are in a similar profession…

    Btw, number of that sweet angel please 😉

    *same pinch*

    not here will mail it to you.. 😉

  8. March 26, 2009 5:27 pm

    all the best fro your efforts. may you get the best deal 😛
    well i remember one incidence though not directly related to the topic, but to the kind behaviour of this lady who called from a bank and asked me ” mam, we have got this….this deal to offer”
    i said ” aunty ,mama is not at home so you call later”
    then she laughed and i was point blank and told me ” okay, aap unke bete bol rahe ho, kuch nahi hota, abhi aapp chote ho na, isliye aisi awaaz hai , jab bade ho jaoege toh theek ho jayegi ”
    this happened when i was in seventh standard . i still remember this incident because for the first time somebody told me this thing that there is no problem with the voice……….its just the hormones which were at play 😛

    🙂 and this reminds me that when we were younger my friends used to call and talk to my bro or my mom thinking it was me.. we all sounded the same.. 🙂

  9. Solilo permalink
    March 27, 2009 5:03 am

    People often forget to be polite. Does it take too much effort?

    Sweet gestures like this sure makes your day. Isn’t it? All the best with your work.

    oh yes i worked with double the energy just after a polite wish.

    thanks.. 🙂

  10. March 27, 2009 2:20 pm

    A sweet smile, a gentle voice and some polite words….life would be much easier no??

    If only people do it more frequently 🙂

    oh i really wish….

  11. March 27, 2009 6:16 pm

    simple things mean a lot, but how many times we miss them…

    ***did ur tag…

    i hope i never miss that while dealing with others..

    will check it out..

  12. March 28, 2009 1:49 pm

    She must be an exception. 🙂

    an exception she was… but would like to have more like her.

  13. May 19, 2009 9:18 pm

    Congratulations!

    For the moment is to stay with you forever! If and when you’re sad ever again, just remember that phone conversation, and you never know…it might just bring a smile to your lips. 🙂

    TC.

    actually it does, if i ever get frustrated of any phone call i think of her..

Leave a Reply

