Skip to content

The woman I admire

March 8, 2009

She is the perfect daughter, sister, wife, daughter-in-law, mother and now a mother-in-law too. I have seen her since I was born but felt her even before that. She is my mom.

I am not saying all this because she’s my mom but because she is the best woman I have ever seen. I actually admire the woman she is.

She is still her mother’s favourite child, as she’s the one in most regular contact with her. All her brothers and sisters adore her; not just because she was the youngest, but because she was always nice to everyone and still is.

My father is a lucky man. I can say so and I know he feels so too. She is a great companion. Be it intelligent conversation, financial discussions, fun-light moments, family decisions, I found them together. Standing side by side. She’s equal to him. I sometimes don’t see them as different people. For me they are one unit. A great couple.

She’s a homemaker, but her personality is so powerful people assume her to be a working woman. She would have been in some top management in any company or running her own business if she had had an opportunity.

But that does not make her homely skills any less. She’s a great cook and our home always looks picture perfect. She toils day in and day out to keep it so. I know with my brother throwing his stuff here and there it was a permanent job she had in hand. But she never fails to greet all of us with a smiling face in the evening.

She’s a great teacher. My initial years of studies (after school) were under her guidance only. And that’s how I learned to study and not just mug up all gibberish written in books. I owe learning to read and write my mother tongue to her; as I never got an opportunity to study that in school.

She’s a great friend. Whenever I needed a friend I had her. I’d come from school and report all the day’s happenings to her. I would talk for hours and she’d listen patiently to all my childish blabber. That continued even in college and though now with some discretion. Still if have anything to say she’d be the first one I want to know. She’s my best friend.

Even my friends like her so much that they want aunty to be with them when the come to our place. She’s good with people of all ages. Elders like her, and kids just adore her.

She’s a great parent. I admire her parenting skills too. She knows what is good for her kids and what must not be allowed. A sweet motherly image that would do anything for her kids suddenly turns to a strict dictator; when she feels that something they are doing or will do is going to harm her kids in any way. And that is how I learned to discipline my own self.

I could go on writing because there is so much I love about her but to summarize all that would be to say – I feel I have never seen any woman so efficient in being a WOMAN.

Great to have her in my life and I wish I could be just like her.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Apar permalink
    March 8, 2009 6:44 am

    I felt like I was reading about my mum!! She is a home maker, strong, loved by all, a good friend to all, great teacher.
    I also sometimes think that I should at least be half the person she is! 🙂
    Lovely post Oorja 🙂

    thanks. 🙂 moms like these give good people to society…

    could’t have thought of a better person to write about on International Women’s Day.

  2. sanjiwan permalink
    March 8, 2009 9:32 am

    I do feel the same for my mother,but I can`t dare comparing or expecting any other humanbing with her. All the mothers are unique.They can not even be compared with Gods if I am ever to compare them. I will always give the God the 2nd place.But something drives me to despair:they will leave us one day.

    yes mothers are unique and most special to every child and must not be compared.

    they leave us one day, unfortunately that is the way of life. but atleast we can tell her how much we love her before she leaves. that is the only thing she wants to hear ever.

  3. March 8, 2009 9:56 am

    God created Mothers on the Earth cos he cannot reach everywhere…!!!

    🙂 Nice post!

    Very true..

    thanks.. 🙂

  4. March 8, 2009 10:11 am

    Happy Women’s Day.. 😀

    🙂

  5. March 8, 2009 1:39 pm

    Great post…
    However, why this on a “Woman’s day” only? Moms are special any day!!! 🙂

    thanks 🙂
    because she’s a woman first and my mom later.

  6. March 8, 2009 4:31 pm

    Nice post 🙂

    🙂

  7. March 8, 2009 8:58 pm

    apologies on reaching here so late..I read this before but wasnt able to comment due to lack of time 🙂

    Like so many others have said before me when I was redaing this in the morning I too felt as if I was reading about mom in so many places 🙂

    My mom is my friends fav too 🙂 as well as all my cousins adore her coz shes cool 😀

    shes my best friend too:)

    you know I have a feeling that this ‘too’ can go on for quite some time 🙂 coz all moms are just like this arent they? 🙂

    Here’s to our mothers the strongest women we have ver known…:)

    and I loved your last line

    ”I feel I have never seen any woman so efficient in being a WOMAN.”
    🙂

    ((hugs)):)

    yes we can go praising our mothers all day long… moms are great.

    *HUGS Back*

  8. March 8, 2009 10:33 pm

    your mom sure sounds like one of a kind – the best kind, of course! give her a hug for us. 🙂

    🙂
    oh she’ll be so happy to have a hug.. *HUGS* from her side to you…

  9. March 9, 2009 5:07 am

    HAppy woman’s day!

    Your mother would be so pleased to read this post. You sound very proud of her. 🙂

    Happy Women’s Day to you too.
    yes she’ll be because i never tell her in person (bad me 😦 ) how much i adore and admire her. but i know she reads my mind better than me. 🙂

  10. March 9, 2009 3:06 pm

    mm… Arent all mom’s like that?? .. i wish i had a fraction of her patience and selflessness .. !! .. belated women’s days wishes .. nice post !!

    Belated women’s day to you too.
    yup… moms.. 🙂

  11. March 9, 2009 7:34 pm

    Nice post ! Im glad you came with a write up on your own mom on womans day 😀

    thanks.. Me too… 🙂

  12. Solilo permalink
    March 9, 2009 9:32 pm

    Oorja, That was so sweet. Your mother would be proud to read this. Do show her. I am sure she will be so happy. Trust me I am a mother and I get all touched seeing mine making ‘I love Mamma’ card.

    Happy Women’s Day!

    Belated Happy women’s day to you too..
    i’ll surely show her.. 🙂

  13. March 10, 2009 1:57 pm

    God could not be everywhere.So he created mothers!

    Absolutely

  14. March 11, 2009 12:57 pm

    Yeah, well… I didn’t know it was Women’s Day until Vodafone sent me a message “Happy Women’s Day”!! 😀
    I called up support and told them I was a guy, and he said, “Well, go wish your mother!”
    Hehe! 😀

    🙂 so did you wish her then..?

  15. March 11, 2009 5:18 pm

    🙂

    😀

  16. March 11, 2009 9:50 pm

    congratulations for having such a fantastic mother. i wish i could be friends with my mother. best friends is long shot. hehe

    🙂 welcome here..

  17. March 12, 2009 6:02 am

    I wish my daughter would post something like this for me 😉 i will coax her to start blogging now
    But seriously I am not even one percent of all that your mom is. A wonderful dedication and you both are lucky to have each other

    oh i sure am lucky.. but even i am not like her..well atleast not fully..

    and every mother is good in her own way and your daughter will surely post about that.

    welcome here .. 🙂

  18. May 19, 2009 9:41 pm

    Congratulations!

    Somehow, I’ve never been that close to my parents. Miss that kind of intimacy sometimes, but have come to terms with it. TC.

    Hmm.. being close to parents needs work from both sides.. just like any other relationship…

  19. May 20, 2009 6:27 am

    More important, it needs a certain kind of foundation, too. But one thing’s there. I don’t conceal anything significant from them. 🙂

    i think that is good enough..

Leave a Reply

