Skip to content

Boundless Unconditional Love…

January 21, 2009

Never tell anyone that they are behaving like ‘an animal’ if you are trying to improve them. Many a times animals behave in ways many humans can and will not. Ask anyone who has a pet they would surely confirm that they love them more than many-a-fellow human beings. Animals love better than humans, no expectations just pure love.

  “Animals are in many ways better than humans when it comes to Love. ” Some incidents  make this belief of mine even more strong.

There are a lot many cats in our area. Two of them live in the building’s dustbin, feeding on our disposed wastes. They were born there and are a few months old now. Both are white, one with a few brown spots and the other with grey & black spots. Initially like any other animal baby they ran from us, afraid we might harm them. Then with time and effort (yes I put an effort to meow at them lovingly every time I see them) they have started to recognize me. Not only that, every time they see me they come running towards me though I never actually feed them. They roll on the ground near me and show their affection. Follow me when I go for a walk, crossing the path many a times for attention, which I give them by meowing along with them. Now they even let me touch them sometimes. I love them. They have become my adopted pets who just don’t live in my house.

One more incident of parental love I got to see in my office premises. Three days ago I saw a cat dragging something. She was taking it to a pillar in the boundary wall. Maybe to enjoy  it alone, away from other cats. On a closer look I found out it was its dead baby and she was trying to save it from being eaten. Maybe she didn’t know it was dead. She was just protecting it.

Yesterday morning I saw her still there sitting by the kitten not ready to leave it alone. There was one more kitten with her which was roaming around. Then in the afternoon when I was leaving for lunch I saw the other kitten on guard with its sibling and mother away to find food for survival of the family that was left. Herself & the other kitten.

Today again I saw both of them sitting there. Maybe nobody in my office has noticed it yet or they would have disposed the kitten. I am torn between should we dispose it & relieve her of this duty. But it will not ease the pain. Or should we just let her be. How painful it is to see a loved one in that state every minute. She’s a mother. Can we understand her pain…? Just coz she’s not human, can we think her grief is any less than ours..?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2009 2:01 pm

    so touching…
    I agree animals know how to love…
    most human beings have forgotten the art…

  2. January 21, 2009 2:50 pm

    thoughtful, sometimes we have to learn from them!

    • January 22, 2009 6:24 am

      Chiranjib – ya.. when humans love it is conditonal…. “u luv me then (only) i’ll luv u”

      Max – we have got to learn a lot from nature.. we keep evolving leaving our basics behind due to whcih we r here today..

  3. January 22, 2009 6:25 am

    very insightful… but… errr… i hate animals… so wouldnt comment much and i hope you will understand that 😀

    but i love your blog otherwise 😀

    • January 22, 2009 6:36 am

      That’s fine dear.. welcome here..

      i believe ‘u think u hate animals’.. you’ve never actually experienced any harm from any animal..! have u..? they r really sweet when u get to know them.
      but its ok if u r not very keen on it.. as long as they don’t get harmed.. i m sure u live & let live.. 🙂

  4. January 22, 2009 11:52 pm

    Nice post !

    I just love pets (in any form) and I guess I should limit my love for animals at that ! 😀

    Btw, Im blogrolling you !

    • January 24, 2009 5:30 am

      Thanks.. welcome here..

      right.. i m a vegtarian not coz i was born in a veg family but coz i don’t have the heart to satisfy my tastebuds with whom i’d luv to b friends..

      thanks again.. 🙂

  5. January 25, 2009 4:16 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog and sharing your views! I’ve blog rolled you, hope its ok. Nice to know you’re into psychology… me too! Would love to hear more views from you 🙂

    I have at least two posts on animals and unconditional love. I couldn’t agree more. I think a person such as you who can strike a friendly, non-threatening vibe with the cat could try to bury the kitten for her…but I’m sure the mother will be in a state of vicious defense, so I don’t know if she will understand your motives. Yeah it’s a dilemma…

    • January 26, 2009 4:52 am

      Neeraja – welcome here..

      The kitten is gone, maybe someone in my office finally noticed the sight after 3-4 days and have taken the kitten away. the cat is gone too.. maybe that was good for all of them.

      Bhargavi – thanks.. 🙂

  6. January 25, 2009 10:38 pm

    nice post ..many times animals show more love and compassion than human beings.. me is no a “cat” person .. but couldnt stop myself saying cute when i read abt the cats u befriended and feel bad abt the dead kitten in u r offc..blogrolling ya !!

  7. January 26, 2009 7:59 am

    For some reason I have been hearing endearing stories about animals, especially pets, lately. This was a sweet post.

    I have never had pets. May be I should think about getting one!

    • January 26, 2009 11:38 am

      welcome here..

      i never had one too.. but have had animals freinds wherever i went..

      hope u get urs soon.. they must be a delight to live with but need as much care as ur own baby..

  8. cutestangel permalink
    January 26, 2009 7:43 pm

    There are times only when a Mother’s love
    Can understand our tears,
    Can soothe our disappointments
    And calm all our fears.

    A mothers love is unconditional wheather its in human or animal.

    • January 27, 2009 5:21 am

      very right.. mothers are the epitome of unconditional love..

      welcome here..

  9. May 4, 2009 1:25 pm

    Blogrolling you.

    I have seen dogs and monkeys do this. Now I know cats do this too!

    thanks.. welcome here.. 🙂

    yes i was surprised to see her visit even after the kitten was disposed off.

Trackbacks

  1. The most revealing tag « Oorja

Leave a Reply

