Skip to content

The Star & its worshippers…

January 14, 2009

Our favorite ‘Sun’… Our own star… Which we can’t live ‘with’ can’t live ‘without’…

Pongal is the day to celebrate the presence of the sun. The food provider of all. The ‘Anna -daata’.

Our farmers toil hard the whole year to produce the food we eat. They do deserve this break. Even the cattle that work so hard to feed us should be paid respect at least once in a year. Though we never seem to really care about any human or animal who is living such a dreadful life in poverty & hunger, whose kids don’t get enough education, whose life ends in a suicide leaving back a family in distress and a large bank loan as the only thing that is passed on to the next generation.

We ought to celebrate with all the proper rituals or we might anger our gods. A ‘Chakkara pongal’ is must along with the ‘Vadai’. The best way to please God is by offering him/her nice food. God doesn’t care if we are genuinely concerned about any human being. He/she just wants the RITUALS.

I am not against the celebrations or the ‘Prasadam’. But when I see people paying more importance to the rituals than the actual reasons for a festival, my blood just boils.

It should have been a bright sunny morning but instead we had a chill cloudy daybreak. With the ground damp due to the rain in the night. Still the spirit of Pongal does not die.
Even if we consider not having an elaborate celebration, our neighbor who thinks she is the ritual police comes to check if I am doing everything properly. She is just like the Maami in Maami’s last post. Although she is just a couple of years older than me, her behavior is like any 80 year old ‘Paati’ (no offence) with everything followed exactly as her mother or grandmother must have taught her.

And she also expects me to do everything, just the way she does it. Not possible. God wants us to be good people & that is what I intend to become. I will follow the rituals not because she wants me to but because I am not against it. I’ll just do it my way.

I am sorry for ruining the mood of a good hearted celebration time, but had this feeling that we as humans should stress (spend) more on improving human lives than we do for celebrations.

Happy Pongal Everyone…!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2009 8:28 am

    happy Pongal to you too 😀

    burlppppppppp!!! i jus had my share of all the gr8 food! 😀

  2. January 14, 2009 10:44 am

    Happy Sankranti!! Festivals are a time to get together and enjoy. Rituals will always be there. I follow it only to the best of my abilities. You are absolutely right about God!

    • January 14, 2009 11:59 am

      Prasad – Happy pongal..
      me too.. always ready 4 good food.

      Varun – i like sankranti. when we were young me & my bro used to fly kites. that was so much fun.
      festivals are to get together with family & friends..

      About God i was being sarcastic in the begining. hope u r talking about what i have written in the end.. 😉

  3. January 14, 2009 9:23 pm

    Hi Oorja,

    Pongal Nalvazhthukkal.

    Unga peyar, Saraswathi devi udaya peyar-a? Nice name.

    “Oorjasvathi payasa pinvamana…” from Medhasooktham.

    The above verse struck me and thought I should leave a comment here.

    • January 15, 2009 5:32 am

      everyone is always welcome to comment..

      Pongal Nalvazhthugal to u too..

      Oorja is my screen name which i chose for myself. i thought of it as ‘Pure/universal Energy’ when i chose it some 8 years ago. it also has some connection with my real name..

      i didn’t know it is Saraswati devi’s name too.. thanks for the info..

  4. January 15, 2009 8:47 am

    Ah no.. you were not ruining it at all! I agree about the rituals – I think people look stupid when they blindly follow rituals without understanding why that ritual came into place!

    Silly fellows, na? Forcing other people also to do the same! They think rituals are above God!

    Happy Pongal to you too… a little late though 🙂

Leave a Reply

