Skip to content

Sacked

December 30, 2008

K has been sacked. maybe she was expecting this. But still… Tears in her eyes and ‘no problem it’s just my cold’ on her lips makes me feel this is unfair.

She joined this company a few months before me. Hers was not a performance oriented job like mine. Just a simple accounts job. Where she showed up every morning & assisted the senior accountant. I don’t know anything about accounts so I am not sure what she did, but whatever she did seemed important. Her boss kept asking her for every detail. She was enjoying working here.

She was dropped by her driver every morning right on time. And I saw her leave punctually as well. Her table was always full of papers and she seemed to be looking for something important whenever I saw her. The phone on her table kept ringing with questions from all other departments of the office. The fax machine was right by her table which I needed to use sometimes, so my contact with her was limited to that and some occasional calls after the office to discuss mild office gossip.

She had been quite happy in the last few months as she kept talking about becoming permanent in the company. Now after finishing almost a year she was sure to get into the payrolls. The probationary period was over. She waited patiently for 5 more months to get the good news. But today she got the pink slip. It came totally unexpected to all of us.

While going to the parking i saw two of the managers standing there.one of them was her boss.he was the one talking.Her performance hasn’t been that good lately, I heard her boss say to the other manager. She has got more leave applications ready on her table than the official letters I ask for.
Everyday she has something coming up to avoid work, he said. She was unorganized and didn’t even remember the important details. On my asking she always had to search for even the documents which were supposed to be ready on my table. I had to keep prompting her for everything. The only quality she had was her punctuality.

I was not sure how true this was because I met her only once or maybe twice a day & she seemed to be working at that time. Although she was always ready for a chat, whenever I visited. But then I thought that was because we didn’t get to meet often. Now after overhearing this conversation I was quite confused as to how I should feel. I considered her to be a good worker.

I left for home thinking about her and the manager’s conversation. Late in the night I got a call from her. I was surprised as she had never called this late. Worried I picked up the phone. She sounded very happy. She told me that she was pregnant and the doctors just confirmed in the evening & also due to her medical conditions she was prescribed bed rest. She wanted to tell me that her termination was a blessing in disguise and if she had approached to leave she might have had problems doing that.

Her exact words were ‘I couldn’t have asked for anything better’. She continued ‘When I came home I was sad for being terminated but late in the evening it felt like the second best thing I heard today’. Now I know every cloud has a silver lining.

I felt peaceful when I put the phone down, now I can sleep peacefully.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2008 3:42 pm

    was this a real story?if it was let me tell you that organized people do not keep working-read fumbling – all the time.But the girl sure is a positive thinker.with pink slips being delivered without a moment’s notice such incidents are quite common.what was her boss doing instead of training her?he shud be sacked too.

    • oorjas permalink*
      December 31, 2008 5:38 am

      This story is part true part my imagination. i wanted to give it a positive ending. actually the lady is looking for a better job & i wish she gets that.

  2. March 4, 2009 3:48 pm

    I like padma’s last thought. We really do need to take better care of one another. Here in Canada you can not be terminated without a good reason (The government will do the fighting for you).

    B.T.W I could use an “Archive” widget that would help locate the beginning of you blog.

    unfortunately here it is not like that.. people sometimes just run away from the job and never return. all of us are helpless. we can’t even back each other up.

    i checked the calender is the ‘Archive’ widget in this template.

    Welcome here ..

  3. April 1, 2009 5:30 am

    whatever happens, it happens for good only..:):)

    true.. 🙂

  4. June 15, 2009 10:29 am

    i love happy endings! 🙂

    😀

Trackbacks

  1. A word with the readers.. « Oorja

Leave a Reply

